Readalikes: Read2Reel- Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Join us today at 5:30pm in the Schmidt Gallery for Read2Reel. We will be discussing the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer.  Haven’t read the book? Stop in anyway for energetic conversation and to watch the movie based on the book.

Can’t make it tonight? The next discussion is scheduled for Tuesday, January 21st. We will be discussing the book The Dead Zone by Stephen King.

Extremely Loud and Incredib...

photo credit: goodreads.com

Synopsis:
Nine-year-old Oskar Schell is an inventor, amateur entomologist, Francophile, letter writer, pacifist, natural historian, percussionist, romantic, Great Explorer, jeweller, detective, vegan, and collector of butterflies. When his father is killed in the September 11th attacks on the World Trade Center, Oskar sets out to solve the mystery of a key he discovers in his father’s closet. It is a search which leads him into the lives of strangers, through the five boroughs of New York, into history, to the bombings of Dresden and Hiroshima, and on an inward journey which brings him ever closer to some kind of peace
– courtesy of goodreads.com

Did you like this month’s selection? Check out some of these similar reads by other authors:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s