Readalikes: Reed2Reel- Ender’s Game

Join us tonight in the Schmidt Gallery for Read2Reel. We will be discussing the book Ender’s Game and watching the movie based on the book. The discussion starts at 5:30pm and the movie begins at 6pm.

Can’t make it tonight? Join us next month to read and discuss We Need to Talk About Kevin.

https://i0.wp.com/www.endersansible.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/movie-cover-207x300.png
image: google.com

Synopsis:
In order to develop a secure defense against a hostile alien race’s next attack, government agencies breed child geniuses and train them as soldiers. A brilliant young boy, Andrew “Ender” Wiggin lives with his kind but distant parents, his sadistic brother Peter, and the person he loves more than anyone else, his sister Valentine. Peter and Valentine were candidates for the soldier-training program but didn’t make the cut—young Ender is the Wiggin drafted to the orbiting Battle School for rigorous military training.

Ender’s skills make him a leader in school and respected in the Battle Room, where children play at mock battles in zero gravity. Yet growing up in an artificial community of young soldiers Ender suffers greatly from isolation, rivalry from his peers, pressure from the adult teachers, and an unsettling fear of the alien invaders. His psychological battles include loneliness, fear that he is becoming like the cruel brother he remembers, and fanning the flames of devotion to his beloved sister.

Is Ender the general Earth needs? But Ender is not the only result of the genetic experiments. The war with the Buggers has been raging for a hundred years, and the quest for the perfect general has been underway for almost as long. Ender’s two older siblings are every bit as unusual as he is, but in very different ways. Between the three of them lie the abilities to remake a world. If, that is, the world survives.

goodreads.com

Did you read this book and love it? If so check out some of these titles:

 

 

Advertisements

One thought on “Readalikes: Reed2Reel- Ender’s Game

  1. Pingback: Top Checkouts – July | Hays Public Library

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s