Readalikes: Read2Reel- The Company You Keep

Join us tonight in the Schmidt Gallery for Read2Reel. We will be discussing the book The Company You Keep by Neil Gordon and watching the movie based on the book. The discussion starts at 5:30pm and the movie begins at 6pm.

Can’t make it tonight? Join us next month to read and discuss The Talented Mr. Ripley by Patricia Highsmith.

222926
image: goodreads.com

Synopsis:
It is 2006. Seventeen-year-old Isabel Montgomery starts to receive emails from her father, a man who had abandoned her in a hotel room ten years ago when his past finally caught up with him. Why has he contacted her now? Because he needs her help and is finally ready to reveal the truth. Over the course of the next month, further emails arrive telling her more about her family’s past. Isabel discovers that her father adopted a false identity in the hope of avoiding murder charges for a robbery gone wrong in 1974. By 1996, with a marriage falling apart around him, he is one last Vietnam-era fugitives still wanted by the law. When he is finally tracked down by a young newspaper reporter in search of a story he must abandon years of safe underground life in an attempt to exonerate himself. Set against the rise and fall of the radical anti-war group the Weather Underground, The Company You Keep is a sweeping American saga about sacrifice, the righteousness of youth, and the tension between political ideals and family loyalties.
goodreads.com

Enjoy this selection? Check out some of these similar reads!
Whiplash River by Lou Berney (New Fiction)
These Thousand Hills by A.B. Guthrie (Fiction)
The Kind One by Tom Epperson (Fiction)

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s